Chakra Yoga

Chakra yoga exercises are exercises that focus on the chakras in our body


Chakra means “wheel” in Sanskrit. You can think of the chakras as energy centers in your body.

There are seven main chakras in total. These are not physical organs, but you can think of them as an accumulation of energy. This is caused by the presence of many nerves, nadis or meridians in these places in your body.

You can imagine that both too much energy and too little energy in a chakra can cause problems. The moment they are all functioning properly, energy can flow optimally through your body.

The seven yoga chakras are all located in a straight line from the sacrum to the spinal cord to the crown of the head, and they all have their own effect on the physical area around them. They also all have their own effect on your mental state.

Actually, all forms of yoga affect the chakras. Some forms of yoga call the chakras more specific than others and focus more on them. Join short term Yoga Retreat in Rishikesh to learn more about yoga chakras.

One of the main forms of yoga that deals with this is Kundalini Yoga. You can learn more about it in this blog:

  • The chakras in general.
  • The connection between the chakras and Kundalini Yoga
  • What are chakra yoga exercises?
  • What are the risks of chakra yoga exercises?

And much more. Are you reading?


1. what does “chakra” mean?

The word chakra comes from Sanskrit and literally means “wheel”. So a chakra can be thought of as a vortex that allows energy to flow through the body, or in other words, a spinning wheel of energy.”

2. How many chakras are there?

We have many chakras in our body, but usually we talk about 7 chakras. Because these are the most important ones.

3. What are chakra yoga exercises?

These are exercises that focus on one or more chakras. You do these exercises to open the chakras and bring them into better balance.

The seven most important chakras

In order to keep our lives balanced and not get sick, depressed, anxious, sad, etc., we need to make sure that the chakras are not blocked so that energy can flow well through the body.

There are 7 main chakra centers in the body. The lowest point is located near the base of the spine and then runs up along the spine to the crown.

Below is an overview of the 7 chakra points:

  • First Chakra – Muladhara – Root Chakra.
  • Second Chakra – Svadhisthana – Sacral Chakra
  • Third Chakra – Manipura – Solar Plexus Chakra
  • Fourth Chakra – Anahata – Heart Chakra
  • Fifth Chakra – Vishuddhi – Throat Chakra
  • Sixth Chakra – Ajna – Third Eye Chakra
  • Seventh Chakra – Sahasrara – Crown Chakra

Would you like to learn more about it? In this blog you will find a complete and unambiguous guide to the chakras.

Chakra Yoga Exercises
What happens when a yoga chakra is not functioning optimally

Unfortunately, it is common for not all yoga chakras to function optimally. When one chakra gives too little energy, another chakra often begins to give too much. This leads to a negative balance in the body.

Too little activity or overactivity is bad and can cause both physical and psychological symptoms.

For example, overactivity of the root chakra can cause obesity and greed. Too little activity can cause, for example, anxiety, underweight and nervousness.

Read More: Yoga exercises for beginners

What are chakra yoga exercises?

Chakra yoga exercises are exercises specifically aimed at opening the chakras.

To “open chakras” means to rebalance the chakras so that energy can flow properly through the body again and you feel fit, well and balanced.

Suppose your first chakra, the root chakra, is out of balance. The color of this chakra is red, and it represents security, confidence and grounding. You may then often feel anxious and insecure.

To bring this chakra into balance, you can do grounding yoga postures, for example.

Chakra yoga exercises can consist of yoga postures, breathing exercises, meditations, (hand) mudras, mantras or sounds, or a combination of these forms.

Sometimes they also focus on the colors and shapes of the chakras.

Chakra Yoga Exercises and Kundalini Yoga

So yoga actually always has an effect on the chakras, only we are often not so aware of it. But imagine, yoga always affects your energy and how you feel, right?

Sometimes you feel more energized after a yoga practice, sometimes more relaxed. But sometimes you also notice that you feel less anxious or get an inspiration during the last meditation. It all has to do with the chakras.

There are also forms of yoga that pay more attention to the chakras and base their practice on them. The most famous form is Kundalini Yoga.

Kundalini yoga has many exercises that are specifically aimed at opening the chakras. This form of yoga has two main characteristics:

  • The yoga exercises are dynamic, so all the exercises flow smoothly into each other.
  • The yoga exercises are time-bound. All exercises must be performed within a certain time.

In addition, the exercises are often performed with many movements, releasing energy from the chakras. Also called kundalini energy. Breathing is very important in this process.

These features make these Kundalini yoga exercises focus especially well on opening your chakras. This gives you a lot of energy and makes you feel more “balanced”.

So, if you want to focus on opening your chakras, Kundalini Yoga can be a suitable form of yoga to engage in.

Nevertheless, it is advisable not to just start here on your own. Intense chakra yoga exercises can be risky. Be well aware of this!

The risks of chakra yoga exercises

If you start doing chakra yoga exercises in a very specific way, it can have unpleasant consequences. The chakras can be opened in the wrong way.

For example, one chakra may contain too much energy (and you may experience discomfort).

If you start adding more energy to that chakra through chakra yoga exercises, the discomfort will worsen or you may even experience new and stronger discomfort.

There are examples of people who have developed all sorts of psychological ailments as a result.

So make sure you have gathered enough reliable information before starting chakra yoga exercises, preferably under the guidance of an experienced teacher.

Important tips

Before performing chakra yoga exercises, make sure that you have mastered the basics of chakra yoga exercises.

That is, you need to know the movements, how to combine them, how long each exercise should last, and what breath to take.

If you do this under professional guidance, the chakra yoga exercises can give you a lot of hidden energy and take you to a higher, new dimension of yoga!

Discover the Chakras

Would you like to learn more about your own chakras and balance them in a safe way? Would you like to experience deep relaxation and work on beliefs that are preventing you from living your best life? Join our yoga courses.

Contact Us: Rishikesh Yoga Gurukulam, Tapovan, Laxman Jhula, Rishikesh, Uttarakhand, 249192, India
+91-9300987000 [email protected]

Tags:  Yoga Teacher Training in Rishikesh | 200 Hour Yoga Teacher Training in Rishikesh | Yoga Course in Rishikesh | Yoga School in Rishikesh

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top